Sierra Club Action Alert: Everglades Pollution Bill vote this Thurs. Call your State Rep. NOW!

Everglades Pollution Bill (HB 7065) gives the sugar industry a free ride.

The House Appropriations Committee will vote on this bill at 4 p.m. on Thursday, March 14. 

Call your state Representative now!

The Sierra Club opposes HB 7065, a bill that seeks to drastically weaken Everglades cleanup standards to benefit the sugar industry.

The ailing Everglades cannot afford delay. Its waters cannot be restored until polluting phosphorus effluent discharged by the sugar industry is cleaned up.

HB 7065 lets the sugar companies off the hook.

– The bill caps the sugar companies’ share of the $880 million cleanup leaving the bulk on on the shoulders of taxpayers.

– It does not require the sugar industry to further reduce phosphorus coming off their lands.

– It doesn’t require the sugar companies to pay their fair share of the rising cost of cleanup and leaves the industry’s meager share at 14 percent of 1994 levels.

HB 7065 jumps the gun.

– It tries to legalize on the state level a bad cleanup proposal that must ultimately be decided by the Federal Court.

– It is highly unlikely the Federal Court would agree to this proposal that lets the sugar industry off the hook

– It is a waste of state resources to pass a bill until a cleanup plan has been agreed to by the Federal Court.

HB 7065 hurts the 7.5 million Floridians who rely on the Everglades for their clean drinking water.

– This bill allows the sugar industry to pollute in the same way they have been doing for years.

– It takes away State accountability.

This bill was written for the benefit of the sugar industry. It creates potential conflicts with Federal rules and the Courts and allows polluters to continue their business as usual at the expense of the Everglades and taxpayers.

Take Action!

Check the list below and see if your Representative is on it. Call him or her, then call as many as you can starting with the counties closest to you. Tell the Representatives to vote against HB 7065 to protect the Everglades and the drinking water supply for almost 8 million people.

House Appropriations Committee 2013

Rep. Seth McKeel, Chair          Polk County
(850) 717-5040          seth.mckeel@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Steve Crisafulli, V. Ch.          Brevard County 
(850) 717-5051          steve.crisafulli@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Ben Albritton          DeSoto County
(850) 717-5056          ben.albritton@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Dennis Baxley          Marion County
(850) 717-5023          dennis.baxley@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Marti Coley          Holmes County 
(850) 717-5005          marti.coley@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Richard Corcoran          Pasco County 
(850) 717-5037          richard.corcoran@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Janet Cruz          Hillsborough County 
(850) 717-5062          janet.cruz@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Erik Fresen          Miami-Dade County
(850) 717-5114 erik.fresen@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Reggie Fullwood          Duval County
(850) 717-5013          reggie.fullwood@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Joe Gibbons          Broward County
(850) 717-5100          joe.gibbons@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Eddy Gonzalez          Miami-Dade County 
(850) 717-5111          eddy.gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Ed Hooper          Pinellas County
(850) 717-5067          ed.hooper@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Matt Hudson          Collier County 
(850) 717-5080          matt.hudson@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Clay Ingram          Escambia County 
(850) 717-5001          clay.ingram@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Mia Jones (M)          Duval County 
(850) 717-5014          mia.jones@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Charles McBurney          Duval County 
(850) 717-5016          charles.mcburney@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Marlene O’Toole          Lake County
(850) 717-5033          marlene.otoole@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Mark Pafford          Palm Beach County 
(850) 717-5086          mark.pafford@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Jimmy T. Patronis          Bay County 
(850) 717-5006          jimmy.patronis@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Steve Precourt          Orange County
(850) 717-5044          steve.precourt@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Hazelle P. Rogers          Broward County 
(850) 717-5095          hazelle.rogers@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Darryl Rouson          Hillsborough County
(850) 717-5070          darryl.rouson@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Cynthia A. Stafford          Miami-Dade County 
(850) 717-5109          cynthia.stafford@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. W. Gregory Steub          Manatee County
(850) 717-5073          greg.steube@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Perry E. Thurston, Jr.          Broward County 
(850) 717-5094          perry.thurston@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Alan B. Williams          Gadsden County
(850) 717-5008          alan.williams@myfloridahouse.gov


Jonathan Ullman
South Florida/Everglades
Senior Field Organizer
Sierra Club
2600 SW 3rd Ave, 5th Floor
Miami, FL 33129
www.sierraclubfloridanews.org

 

Categories News and Media, Take Action | Tags: | Published in March, 2013 |

Share this story:

RSS Facebook Twitter Google del.icio.us Stumble Upon Digg Reddit

Leave a Reply

close window